The never ending battle against WFTDA minimum skills (Season 2, Episode 3)

Last week, I was so frustrated with my ankle and my recovery process that I thought I’d just be skating laps for the rest of my life. But last night, Roe put me through my paces: stopping, falling, sprinting, turning around…and then, and then! HITTING! Well, taking hits, actually, but close enough. I got cleared for contact!! And sprinting, and jumping, and pretty much everything. She also told me to quit being a baby and to skate for the full 2 hour practice.

So that’s awesome, right?! I still have pain, but apparently I’m strong enough to skate through it.

On the down side, I missed a really important minimum skills night on Monday. Instead of learning how to hit again, I got to test the other girls as they learned how to hit. My half-newbie, half-vet status just keeps getting weirder. Anyway, I’ll have to go through all the contact testing: whips, shoulder checks, hip checks, etc., so that I can catch up with the other girls.

And then…the speed test. 25 laps in 5 minutes. This thing has been haunting me for almost a year now. I think I’m fast enough and steady enough to pass, I really do. I think it’s going to be no big deal…but I’m also planning to spend the next five days working on it. Lots of cardio, mountain climbers, skater jumps, etc. etc., and on Monday, I am going to kick the speed test’s ass. I have to. Even if I die at the end of it. Even if I have a limp for a week (it’s okay, I’ll be home for the holidays and not skating anyhow). Must. Pass. Speed. Test!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The never ending battle against WFTDA minimum skills (Season 2, Episode 3)

  1. Sarah Marie says:

    I’m fresh meat too and the thought of doing 25 in 5 seems a lifetime away for me…..
    Cool blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,069 other followers

